99 Days Without Facebook

15 Jul

I found this article when cruising Facebook this morning:

http://www.psfk.com/2014/07/dutch-agency-explores-impact-of-99-days-without-facebook.html#!bftedt

“Let me ‘splain – no, there is too much. Let me sum up”:

It’s all about the Dutch and how they studied moods linked to Facebook. The study claims that Facebook puts people in NEGATIVE moods! The claim is that we get depressed through too much time on the site. It encourages people to change their profile picture and inform all their followers that they will be taking a break from the site. In fact, participants in the study get a screen to block their Facebook page – there’s no going back if you participate in the study.

new-profile-picture

This got me thinking: could I do it? Could I leave Facebook for 99 days? I post a lot – sometimes every hour. I realize I have a problem. I don’t smoke (anymore), don’t drink heavily, have been able to stay away from drugs and don’t binge eat. Stalking people is my obsession, I guess.

I started weighing the pros and cons of what Facebook has done for me. Facebook has gotten me jobs. It has kept me in touch with my long distance friends and I moderate a group for writers over there. I have found support, both morally and financially. Facebook has been a plus.

It’s also been a negative force in my life. I have had people contact me who just wanted to start trouble and make my life hurt. I have ended friendships over what others have posted. I have found out things I never needed to know – thanks for that, Facebook.

If I take the challenge, I will still have my blogs posted there. I will still have to remain visible, because my work needs to be shared. All my fans are on Facebook, and they consume a lot of what I write. The decision to get rid of Facebook will not mean the page is deleted – it will simply mean that I log off and see how long I can wait until I log on again.

Facebook saves me when I am bored, it keeps me updated and sometimes makes me laugh. It is, however, an addiction – can I get over the addiction long enough for the challenge?

I will accept the challenge. After this blog is posted, I will tell my Facebook world that I am checking out. I will provide a phone number and email address for anyone who still wants to find out how I’m doing. After my final sign out, I will continue to blog on my progress with the experiment. I will discuss my moods and what I’ve accomplished for the day – basically, what I’ve done when I would have been using Facebook.

Of course, as is my style, I won’t post every day,  maybe not every week. But I’ll be here, on my blog. My work will be posted to Facebook. But as for any actual posts by me or any Facebook scrolling and stalking, that ends today.

Let’s see how long it lasts.

 

Leave a Reply

F*ck is a comma

There will be swears

Simmons Syndications

Where the WRITE words make the difference

not for nothing y'all

a blog about all the things...

Must Be This Tall To Ride

I'm a single dad documenting his journey. A guy trying to walk a higher path. And messing up. A lot.

Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse

And Other Thoughts - Including Cleopatra's Journal

Ammar Khan's Toronto Blog

Marketing Trends and Social Media News from the Eyes of a Canadian Marketer

Mommy FourOneOne

Sharing info with other moms in this overwhelming, yet amazing adventure we call being a mom.

The Sensible Psychic (tm)

Intuitive Solutions for Transforming Your Life!

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

Mom in the Muddle

Getting Through All Life Slings Her Way

Craft Schmaft

Making Happy

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

you and mie

let's make things

