Common Core Contacts and How To’s

5 Nov

Good luck everyone, and DON’T STOP UNTIL WE GET WHAT WE WANT. Set aside time every day, every week or every other week. The more we yell, the more they have to listen.

We are all dealing with the national common core issues in the schools. I am on a mission to get rid of it in New York.

Here is the address of the Commissioner of Education:

Dr. John B. King, Jr.
Commissioner of Education and
President of the University of the State of New York
New York State Education Department
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234

Please see below for a sample letter, or write what is in your heart.

These are the people to call or email:

Assemblyman

Local Senator

Congressman

State Senator

Call and email one or all, it doesn’t matter. See below for a list of questions to ask and a sample voicemail, or speak from your heart. Try not to yell – it’ll be hard, I know.

THE SAMPLE LETTER TO MR KING:

[Your name]

[Your address]

[Date]

Dear Mr. King,

I am the parent of an amazing student in the (name) school district. We have been very happy with the school system thus far, and my child has been happy to attend school.

However, I have noticed a recent change in my child. I have witnessed more tears and more stress from my sweet darling over homework assignments. I have noticed homework assignments which have been nearly impossible for my child to complete. I have also noticed that these homework assignments do not reflect past learning. I have noticed that my child is expected to understand and regurgitate information – with accuracy – which does not build on past information.

Aren’t our children supposed to build on previous knowledge? Aren’t our children supposed to use their past experience as a building block for new information? How are they to learn through clouded, teary eyes? How are they to comprehend material which I cannot understand, even with my years of experience in school?

My heart is broken, Mr. King. It breaks every time I hear my child cry because the homework is just too hard. It breaks more when I call ten of my friends, who cannot figure out my child’s math and reading problems. As adults, we cannot help our children. How do you expect us to embrace the common core when we have no idea how to help our children?

Other states have thrown the common core out of the schools. I suggest New York does the same. We cannot survive under these standards – our children are too frustrated and honestly, so are we. Throw out the common core, Mr. King. Take us back to where we were.

Sincerely,

[Name]

The idea behind this letter is that it is simple. Cater it to your specific needs – mention your education if you want. The point is that it doesn’t matter how educated you are or aren’t. We should all be trying to stop this nonsense.

THE PHONE CALLS:

If you are going to make phone calls (and you should), here are some sample questions to ask:

1. Why did I receive meaningless test scores for my child?

2. Why can’t I see the test before my child takes it? I want to see the entire test. If I cannot see it, does that not violate my civil rights as a parent?

3. Have you seen the tests? Why not? Why are you allowing the state’s children to take a test you haven’t seen?

4. Why are parochial, charter and private schools exempt from these tests? Why is my child being punished for attending public school?

5. Why is my child missing real learning opportunities simply because they attend public school?

6. What are you doing to answer the frustrations of parents and students over these changes?

7.  Do you support Cuomo’s announcement that there should be a “death penalty” for low-performing schools? Do you support Cuomo’s idea to hand schools over to the cities, who do not know how to run schools? Do you support the idea of handing schools over to charter schools, who do statistically worse, according to recent 2013 state test data?

SAMPLE VOICEMAIL:

Hello, my name is (   ) and I live in (town). I am calling regarding the common core standards in our schools. I am interested in discussing their removal from our schools. I also have a few simple questions I would like answered. Please contact me at (phone number) at your earliest convenience to discuss my feelings as a resident, parent, and voter in your district. Thank you.

SAMPLE EMAIL:

[Date]

Dear [name]

I am a parent in the (name) school district. I would like you to answer a few questions regarding the common core. I would appreciate honest answers to all of my questions, and I would appreciate support in throwing the common core standards out of the state.

1. Why did I receive meaningless test scores for my child?

2. Why can’t I see the test before my child takes it? I want to see the entire test. If I cannot see it, does that not violate my civil rights as a parent?

3. Have you seen the tests? Why not? Why are you allowing the state’s children to take a test you haven’t seen?

4. Why are parochial, charter and private schools exempt from these tests? Why is my child being punished for attending public school?

5. Why is my child missing real learning opportunities simply because they attend public school?

6. What are you doing to answer the frustrations of parents and students over these changes?

7.  Do you support Cuomo’s announcement that there should be a “death penalty” for low-performing schools? Do you support Cuomo’s idea to hand schools over to the cities, who do not know how to run schools? Do you support the idea of handing schools over to charter schools, who do statistically worse, according to recent 2013 state test data?

Sincerely,

(name)

Find information for your senators, assemblymen and congressmen:

FIND YOUR LOCAL SENATORS:

District 11

District 40

District 32

District 49

District 17

District 12

District 47

District 28

District 52

District 45

District 5

District 54

District 19

District 10

District 9

District 3

FIND YOUR ASSEMBLY MEMBER:

http://assembly.state.ny.us/mem/?sh=search

ASSEMBLY EMAILS FOR NEW YORK:

49th
92nd
84th
2nd
53rd
86th
35th
120th
106th
60th
82nd
117th
62nd
55th
26th
44th
119th
138th
46th
93rd
118th
103rd
43rd
145th
33rd
47th
32nd
144th
85th
122nd
21st
63rd
45th
34th
81st
147th
115th
4th
54th
109th
71st
126th
8th
124th
143rd
95th
137th
7th
77th
148th
80th
66th
23rd
150th
75th
5th
100th
139th
83rd
3rd
28th
48th
18th
42nd
97th
135th
113th
94th
74th
142nd
76th
40th
131st
105th
13th
50th
125th
102nd
123rd
10th
121st
129th
59th
64th
30th
90th
108th
14th
17th
107th
38th
52nd
15th
136th
57th
39th
133rd
37th
69th
130th
51st
91st
132nd
88th
141st
58th
89th
73rd
19th
98th
12th
6th
134th
78th
128th
56th
68th
72nd
67th
25th
116th
149th
9th
111th
29th
16th
140th
87th
65th
27th
36th
104th
99th
22nd
114th
110th
79th
127th
11th
112th
101st
1st
61st
31st
146th
41st
20th
24th
70th
96th
FIND THE STATE SENATORS:
Senator Charles Shumer
(202) 224-6542
Senator Kirsten Gillibrand
She only has an online form, unfortunately.
FIND YOUR CONGRESSMAN:
Tom Reed III
Another contact form…
Bill Owens (There are phone numbers on this one)
Chris Gibson (Phone numbers here too)
Good luck everyone, and DON’T STOP UNTIL WE GET WHAT WE WANT. Set aside time every day, every week or every other week. The more we yell, the more they have to listen.
Leave a Reply

F*ck is a comma

There will be swears

Simmons Syndications

Where the WRITE words make the difference

not for nothing y'all

a blog about all the things...

Must Be This Tall To Ride

I'm a single dad documenting his journey. A guy trying to walk a higher path. And messing up. A lot.

Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse

And Other Thoughts - Including Cleopatra's Journal

Ammar Khan's Toronto Blog

Marketing Trends and Social Media News from the Eyes of a Canadian Marketer

Mommy FourOneOne

Sharing info with other moms in this overwhelming, yet amazing adventure we call being a mom.

The Sensible Psychic (tm)

Intuitive Solutions for Transforming Your Life!

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

Mom in the Muddle

Getting Through All Life Slings Her Way

Craft Schmaft

Making Happy

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

you and mie

let's make things

