OMG Go Away for Five Minutes!!!

15 Sep

I have a confession to make.

I wanted to shower by myself last night.

I know this is a TERRIBLE mommy thing to do, but I insist on showering by myself. No one is allowed in the bathroom – not even the significant other. First of all, I get annoyed with that sort of “fun”. Second of all, I want that sacred five minutes to be by myself. It’s the only time I get to spend by myself. When the kids were younger, as long as someone else was home, I used to lock the door. I’m pretty serious about this.

Last night, though, I hadn’t locked the door because the kids are older. I figure they will leave me alone for a couple minutes while I shower. They’re nine and ten and can occupy themselves, right?

Well, maybe not always. I got in the shower after being on my feet for twelve straight hours on a Saturday – that’s a long story. I was standing there, hoping the steam would clean out my clogged sinuses a little. Before I knew it, there was a knock on the door and an insistent, “Mommy!!!”

Of course. I ignored it four times before the door banged open. My good thoughts washed down the drain. I physically drooped as I decided how to handle it. I poked my head out of the curtain and gave her a very tired version of, “What????”

She stood there and looked at me, all nine and sweetly innocent. She was deciding whether to stay or go while I was deciding how to ask her to leave.

Then suddenly something changed. I realized I wanted her to stay. I wanted her company and I wanted to hear what she had to say. I wanted to relax, but I wanted to do it with her. I asked her to come in, sit down and talk to me.

Eventually, she made me laugh. I could have stood there in silence and let the water bring me peace. Instead, I let my daughter into my private solace and her imagination brought me joy. Which is better? Leave your opinion below!!!!

Leave a Reply

F*ck is a comma

There will be swears

Simmons Syndications

Where the WRITE words make the difference

not for nothing y'all

a blog about all the things...

Must Be This Tall To Ride

I'm a single dad documenting his journey. A guy trying to walk a higher path. And messing up. A lot.

Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse

And Other Thoughts - Including Cleopatra's Journal

Ammar Khan's Toronto Blog

Marketing Trends and Social Media News from the Eyes of a Canadian Marketer

Mommy FourOneOne

Sharing info with other moms in this overwhelming, yet amazing adventure we call being a mom.

The Sensible Psychic (tm)

Intuitive Solutions for Transforming Your Life!

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

Mom in the Muddle

Getting Through All Life Slings Her Way

Craft Schmaft

Making Happy

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

you and mie

let's make things

