Production Begins!

13 Jul

It was a cloudy, hot summer day. The clouds gave an ominous feeling as I sped over the back road looking for it. Farm after farm clouded my sense of direction; field after field turned my sight upside down. I scanned both sides of the road, searching for any sign of what I needed to find.

Finally, it appeared on the left. It loomed over the road like a great brick overseer of all the land around it. I felt like an outsider as it peered down on me while I pulled up the drive. I had arrived on the set of the newest iamhorror film, House on Ghost Hill.

The house peeks at me through the trees, asking me why I'm there.

The house peeks at me through the trees, asking me why I’m there.

 

Luckily, I recognized my friends on the porch and the house quickly lost its grip on all my greatest fears. It seemed sad to lose me so quickly.

I hopped out of the car and began to explore the mystery all around me. The house rests on land which has served a number of different purposes. It has been home to whiskey bootleg, a dairy farm and a number of different families. It is an amazing combination of brick, love and sweat.

The cast and crew were breaking for lunch when I arrived and everyone was in a jovial mood. The morning shoot had gone really well. People were spread throughout the barn talking and eating together. Cows and horses looked on as conversations about religion and astrophysics ensued around coolers of soda.

Laura and Aili pose!

Laura and Aili pose!

Mark takes a break outside.

Mark takes a break outside.

Brian, Tony and Andy prefer the cool barn for relaxing

Brian, Tony and Andy prefer the cool barn for relaxing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The light feeling soon turned to serious tones as, one by one, people started to get back to work. Scripts came out, make up brushes flew and talk started to go back to scenes or lines. Like a light switch, people turned from frolicking to serious work. This group was quite synced with each other – I barely knew where to stand at times because they seemed to have a deep connection that told them when to work. Maybe it was a predetermined schedule, but to an outsider, these people really seemed to sync up at just the right moments.

Laura touches up AmArA before the shoot inside.

Laura touches up AmArA before the shoot inside.

Patrick is ready to go!

Patrick is ready to go!

Kendra makes sure AmArA looks picture perfect.

Kendra makes sure AmArA looks picture perfect.

Tony checks over his lines after lunch.

Tony checks over his lines after lunch.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Everyone headed into the house. This was why I had come! I was so excited to see the inside of this house. I needed to prove to the house that I was not to be had by its foreboding stare! We walked in the back door and I was immediately struck by the idea that someone was watching me.

Of course people were everywhere – but they were staying quite busy working on House on Ghost Hill. I was working independently and no one had reason to watch me. It didn’t matter – I felt eyes on me that I just couldn’t place with any real head.

I walked through the house, marveling at the ambiance all around me. The walls were decorated with vintage pictures and the decorations screamed of decades past. The modern camera equipment did nothing to take away from the fact that this house breathed history. Even if I didn’t believe in ghosts, I would still look over my shoulder at night in this house.

Perhaps someone from these blurry old time photos was looking over my shoulder....

Perhaps someone from these blurry old time photos was looking over my shoulder….

 

As the crew busied themselves with setup, the actors got to work right away. Lighting had to be just right, cameras needed to be prepared and lines needed to be rehearsed. The scenes were being set! I watched and listened as the actors practiced. They were so convincing that I jumped when the script called for a man to yell at a woman! I thought a fight had ensued! The crew members reassured me that they were just acting, thank goodness!

The official script!

The official script!

Tony and Andy practice the lines that led up to the "argument scene".

Tony and Andy practice the lines that led up to the “argument scene”.

Nostalgia mixes with modern equipment with this milk jug and camera case as filming begins.

Nostalgia mixes with modern equipment with this milk jug and camera case as filming begins.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Finally, everyone was geared up and ready to go! The crew was moved out of the shooting area and the filmmakers wove their magic! All the crew, myself included, waited outside as the cameras rolled inside.

Kendra finds a new friend between work....

Kendra finds a new friend between work….

...as does Alex...

…as does Alex…

...and Denise!

…and Denise!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While the crew was on break, I had the pleasure of speaking with the owner of the house. He was kind enough to let me read some of the house history. According to the local legend, the Underground Railroad ran very close to this house. Additionally, there is a rumored secret tunnel in the basement where the Herrera family ran their bootleg whiskey during prohibition. They would funnel the sweet liquid to the basement, sneak it into the barn, then move it out in trucks disguised as normal milk trucks.

This house/movie set has an interesting past. It has been home to a number of distinct individuals and large personalities. Perhaps, upon post production, we could learn that our actors had some “extras” helping them out!

This movie is a must-have. Make sure to keep up with its progress here and on iamhorror.com

Finally, a few last pictures of the masters at work:

Ted works with Patrick and Alex on a shot...

Ted works with Patrick and Alex on a shot…

...while Doug and Bassam work on some scenes in the barn!

…while Doug and Bassam work on some scenes in the barn!

6 Responses to “Production Begins!”

  1. Jimmy Burns July 13, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

    This is Brilliant,a Story Within a Story,Something Weird and Wonderful about This!!

  2. Marquis July 14, 2013 at 6:05 am #

    Great write up!!

  3. Danielle Weeks July 14, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    I am so excited to see that filming has begun! My Grandmother lived in this house as a young girl. Seven children and their parents, they all had their own room. Last summer we took a drive from our home in Binghamton to this beautiful home in Greene and were fortunate enough to meet the owner Steve and he allowed us to come in and tour the home. My Grandmother was so pleased with all of the work that he has done in the home and I thought it was just wonderful that myself and my two little girls were able to stand in the room that she had called her bedroom. I kept keeping Nana up to date with FB postings of the soon to be film production. She passed away this past March, I just know that she would have loved to see the final product. Who knows maybe she will be one of those past household members acting as an “extra”!

    • rebeccawrites78 July 14, 2013 at 11:03 am #

      I’m sorry for your loss honey. I was wondering if I could please have your grandmother’s last name? It would add to the research I’ve already done on the home.

      • Danielle Weeks July 27, 2013 at 7:59 am #

        I am sorry it took so long to respond. My Grandmother’s name was Addie Koerts. Her parent’s names were Arie and Johanna Koerts. She said that they lived there when she was around middle school age. So I would say around 1940’s. Still so excited I love that house!

  4. rebeccawrites78 July 14, 2013 at 11:02 am #

    Thank you everyone for the kind words! If you do know about the house, I welcome comments! Keep sharing your stories of the house and the area surrounding! But please, don’t give away the location – too much traffic interrupts the filming hehe. Thank you all for your support!

Leave a Reply

F*ck is a comma

There will be swears

Simmons Syndications

Where the WRITE words make the difference

not for nothing y'all

a blog about all the things...

Must Be This Tall To Ride

I'm a single dad documenting his journey. A guy trying to walk a higher path. And messing up. A lot.

Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse

And Other Thoughts - Including Cleopatra's Journal

Ammar Khan's Toronto Blog

Marketing Trends and Social Media News from the Eyes of a Canadian Marketer

Mommy FourOneOne

Sharing info with other moms in this overwhelming, yet amazing adventure we call being a mom.

The Sensible Psychic (tm)

Intuitive Solutions for Transforming Your Life!

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

Mom in the Muddle

Getting Through All Life Slings Her Way

Craft Schmaft

Making Happy

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

you and mie

let's make things

