Buying A House Part Two

13 May

Mother’s Day was also my dad’s birthday. I didn’t go to their house that day because we have a surprise for them next weekend. However, I called, of course. Am I ever glad I did! I talked to my dad about the house. He had some great tips.

taxes-1

1. Are there back taxes on it?

2. What’s broke? How old is the roof, water heater, furnace, etc etc

3. Is the water well or municipal?

4. What’s the foundation look like?

5. Does it flood? (Important for where I live)

6. What’s the condition of the yard?

My daddy is my biggest critic, and thank God he is. If I don’t want to hear the hard truth, I don’t call him. I really should call him more often. The answers to these questions will give me a great start on any home I’m considering. I would not have known to ask these questions on my own.

I’m calling the town hall today to ask about the property. I’ll ask about back taxes and the amount of last year’s taxes. That should be public domain. I’ve also contacted two mortgage companies, and will contact a third this week. I read that it’s best to shop around and compare what they offer. I also heard that balloon rates are very, very bad and should be avoided at all costs.

I hope you’re enjoying following my journey through buying a house. If you have any suggestions at any point through my process, please tell me. I am sharing this process to let everyone know how I’m doing it, to get suggestions and to give advice to those behind me! It’s not easy, but it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

F*ck is a comma

There will be swears

Simmons Syndications

Where the WRITE words make the difference

not for nothing y'all

a blog about all the things...

Must Be This Tall To Ride

I'm a single dad documenting his journey. A guy trying to walk a higher path. And messing up. A lot.

Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse

And Other Thoughts - Including Cleopatra's Journal

Ammar Khan's Toronto Blog

Marketing Trends and Social Media News from the Eyes of a Canadian Marketer

Mommy FourOneOne

Sharing info with other moms in this overwhelming, yet amazing adventure we call being a mom.

The Sensible Psychic (tm)

Intuitive Solutions for Transforming Your Life!

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

Mom in the Muddle

Getting Through All Life Slings Her Way

Craft Schmaft

Making Happy

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

you and mie

let's make things

