Planting Oregano

3 Jun

Honestly, I started the oregano – specifically Mexican oregano – from an existing plant. I will try herbs from seeds another time.

My friend brought me his plants from his garden, but oregano can be found in any home gardening stores. The plant has a green, fuzzy stem with soft leaves. I started the plant in February and pulled the bottom-most leaves off the stem. It’s simple to see where the stem lies on Mexican oregano because the leaves grow off the top.

I placed the cleaned oregano in a glass of water, stem down. I used small, clear glasses because I had to see the stem. After a few weeks, the plant  began to shoot white roots from the bottom.

After the roots began to form, I used store-bought soil to fill a wooden bin. I buried the roots and watered the plant every other day. I kept the plant in a semi-sunny window until May, when the final frost broke. I moved the plant outside, where it continues to thrive.

Oregano in water, waiting to root

There are no secrets to keeping the plant alive. I harvested it as it grew by simply pulling off the leaves that grew toward the bottom of the plant. When I buried the roots, I made sure they were completely under the dirt. I started with four plants, and I spaced them approximately two inches apart.

Drying the oregano was also simple. I placed the leaves in a brown paper bag and hung the bag near the ceiling. After a few weeks, the oregano dried completely and was ready to be crushed. I checked the drying plants weekly for mold. I had very little mold issues. When the leaves were dry, I chopped them into crumbs and stored them in a shaker.

In my opinion, Mexican oregano is a great “starter” herb. If you need to practice with a hearty plant or build your gardening confidence, start here. The plant is aromatic, strong, easy to transplant and next to no work to harvest then dry.

One Response to “Planting Oregano”

  1. vitamins June 6, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    I view something genuinely interesting about your website so I bookmarked .

Leave a Reply

F*ck is a comma

There will be swears

Simmons Syndications

Where the WRITE words make the difference

not for nothing y'all

a blog about all the things...

Must Be This Tall To Ride

I'm a single dad documenting his journey. A guy trying to walk a higher path. And messing up. A lot.

Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse

And Other Thoughts - Including Cleopatra's Journal

Ammar Khan's Toronto Blog

Marketing Trends and Social Media News from the Eyes of a Canadian Marketer

Mommy FourOneOne

Sharing info with other moms in this overwhelming, yet amazing adventure we call being a mom.

The Sensible Psychic (tm)

Intuitive Solutions for Transforming Your Life!

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

Mom in the Muddle

Getting Through All Life Slings Her Way

Craft Schmaft

Making Happy

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

you and mie

let's make things

