A Healthy School Lunch

9 Feb

I am always trying to find different school lunch ingredients. I’ve looked in magazines and on the Internet, but my kids are far too finicky for many of the creative ideas I find there. Through trial and error, we finally discovered a lunch they can really get into and enjoy. They request this lunch often. I add a small container of Jell-o and an apple to the following lunch and they don’t come home hungry.

First, I lay out a piece of aluminum foil and place a whole wheat wrap on top:

Next, I prepare a tuna salad with the following ingredients:

Mayonnaise, Tuna and Relish

I drain the tuna and add three tablesp0ons of mayonnaise with one tablespoon of relish. I mix it all together and place it in the center of the wrap:

I fold the wrap around the tuna:

I wrap the foil around the tuna wrap. One of the things I do is tuck the ends of the foil under the wrap and gently press the foiled wrap against the counter. The foil adheres to itself and the wrap stays intact until lunchtime, even for my daughter who tends to be quite careless with her lunch bag.

Next, I started making ants on a log. The kids love this; they consider it a treat. Again, I laid out a piece of aluminum foil and placed six pieces of washed celery on the foil:

I filled the celery with peanut butter, dotted the peanut butter with raisins, then wrapped the whole package as follows:

Left over right

Right over left

Bottom up

Top down

This is what it looked like in the lunch bag:

After I added the apple and Jell-o, the items held each other in place. Even if the items shift, the foil helps hold them in place. Nothing shifts around within the foil. When the kids eat the food, they unwrap the foil from the top and the food is laid out neatly.

**For those who are environmentally conscious, napkins work well but tend to shift. If anyone can provide a solution which reduces waste, please leave it in the comments section. Honestly, I’d appreciate an Earth-friendly version of the same idea! I’ve tried snap-top containers but the peanut butter gets everywhere and the tuna unwraps itself.**

3 Responses to “A Healthy School Lunch”

  1. Amber S. February 9, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    We use re-useable sandwich wraps.

  2. rebeccawrites78 February 9, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

    Do you have a picture of them? I’d like to see what you’re talking about, and where did you find them?

  3. Lillian Drohan November 14, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    The peanut butter that i always buy have some additional nuts in it and they taste great. `

    My own, personal web page
    http://www.prettygoddess.com

Leave a Reply

F*ck is a comma

There will be swears

Simmons Syndications

Where the WRITE words make the difference

not for nothing y'all

a blog about all the things...

Must Be This Tall To Ride

I'm a single dad documenting his journey. A guy trying to walk a higher path. And messing up. A lot.

Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse

And Other Thoughts - Including Cleopatra's Journal

Ammar Khan's Toronto Blog

Marketing Trends and Social Media News from the Eyes of a Canadian Marketer

Mommy FourOneOne

Sharing info with other moms in this overwhelming, yet amazing adventure we call being a mom.

The Sensible Psychic (tm)

Intuitive Solutions for Transforming Your Life!

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

Mom in the Muddle

Getting Through All Life Slings Her Way

Craft Schmaft

Making Happy

smallestforest.wordpress.com/

Express yourself. It is later than you think.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

you and mie

let's make things

